2004 Season

The league continued with 12 teams in a head-to-head in a 144-game schedule for the 12th year of the LFBL. West Coast Pioneers (managed by Bruce Lasorella) left the league, while the Rexburg Cats (managed by Byron Gilbert) joined the league. The four divisions were colored and picked to match up some teams that had not been in same division before. The Michigan Mobsters won the blue division (4th division title and 6th playoff appearance) and ended up with the best record in the league for the first time in their team history. They were also the only team to win 80 plus games, while all other playoff teams only won 70 plus games. Other division winners included: Harbor Park Eagles (9th division title and 9th playoff appearance), Fern Hill Grizzlies (8th playoff appearance and 2nd division title) and Wasatch Wompums (3 division title and 5th playoff appearance – their first appearance in the playoffs since 1998). Wild Card teams included: Seattle Sluggers (10th playoff appearance), Salem Sidewinders (11th playoff appearance), Santaquin Polar Bears (4th playoff appearance in 4 years in the league) and Sacramento Scooby-Doos (8th playoff appearance). In the All-star game Edgar Martinez was 4-4 with 2 RBI, HR and 2 runs scored and named MVP as the Green/Purple All-stars beat the Blue/Red All-Stars 7-6.
In the playoffs the #1 and #2 seeded Michigan and Wasatch were ousted in the quarter finals to set up a semi-final of Fern Hill vs. Sacramento and Santaquin vs. Harbor Park. Sacramento and Santaquin had as easy time of it to reach the finals -–making it the first time in league history that the bottom two seeded teams made it to the finals. Santaquin and Sacramento were both in the green division and both finished with 73-71 records (tied for the lowest regular season record to reach the finals). The series went back and forth and was so evenly matched that a 7th game was forced. Sacramento starter William Bell pitched a 4-hit shutout for the 2-0 series clinching win. He ended up as the series MVP with a 2-0 record and 2.18 ERA. The victory made Sacramento the first #8 seed to win the league championship, gave Sacramento their third title in four attempts (tying them with Salem for the most league titles.) In fact in the 12 years of the league, Sacramento and Salem have half of the league titles. Regular season awards: MVP – Babe Ruth (Michigan) – first three time winner, Cy Young – Jack Coombs (Santaquin), MV Relief Pitcher – Robb Nen (Harbor Park), Manager of the Year – Ethan Thompson (Sacramento)