2006 Season

The league continued with 12 teams in a head-to-head in a 144-game schedule for the 14th year of the LFBL. For the 2006 season a new team joined the league – the Puyallup Dingos, managed by Jordan MacDonald and a team manager returned – Matthew Thompson, after being out of the league for a couple of years. The league said goodbye to long time manager Mark Hinkson. American Fork ran the table (managed by Ken Hinkson) with the best regular season record and clinched their record 11th division title. They also put up the 5th best win percentage in league history with 95 wins. They then went on to post 12 more wins by ousting Puyallup, South Sound and two-time defending Champion Elk Grove in the playoffs to clinch their first League Championship. By doing so they posted the most wins in a regular season and post season combined – 107. Other division winners included: Salem, Dodgeville and Fern Hill. Puyallup, South Sound, Elk Grove and Santaquin were the Wild Card participants. Elk Grove made it to the finals for their 6th time.

Due to time constraints there was no All-Star game. The League MVP was a duel affair: Josh Gibson of Dodgeville and Jimmie Foxx of American Foxx. Cy Young winner – George Bradley – Dodgeville. MV Relief Pitcher – Joe Nathan – Salem

American Fork Championship team:

Catcher – Gabby Hartnett

1st base – George Sisler

2nd base – Alfonso Soriano

3rd base – Jimmie Foxx

Shortstop – Ernie Banks

Leftfield – Babe Ruth

Centerfield – Fred Lynn

Rightfield – Joe Kelley

Designated Hitter – Willie Mays

Starting Pitchers – Ron Guidry, Dick Redding, Joe Williams, Dick Ellsworth, Ed Walsh

Relief Pitchers – Billy Wagner, Jim Brewer, Goose Gossage, Keith Foulke, Tom Niedenfuer