2011 Season

All teams from the previous season stayed in the league for 2011. This season just making the playoffs gave you a good shot at success, as two teams made the playoffs with 81-81 records and one with an 82-80 record. In the All-star series the National League team won 5 games to 2 and now leads the all-time series 3-2 (when a 7-game All-star series has been played). The following teams won division titles: American Fork, Pullman, Santaquin and Salem. Wild card teams included: South Sound, Dodgeville, Puyallup, Maple Valley. American Fork knocked out the defending champion Dodgeville in the ALCS to reach the LFBL championship series for the 4th time. They would face Santaquin who knocked off Maple Valley in the NLCS and reached the finals for the 3rd time. American Fork out-lasted Santaquin to win the LFBL championship for the 2nd time. They became the 4th team with 2 or more championships. At the end of the season three teams would leave the league: SLC Angels, South Hill Aardvarks and Minnesota Heroes.







AL Cy Young

Maddux, Greg

Dodgeville Tornadoes

D. Thompson

2.45, 19-10, 13 CG, 8 SHUTOUTS, 107 K’S, 57 BB


AL Cy Young Runner-up

Brown, Mordecai

Puyallup Dingos

J. MacDonald

3.00, 18-11, 6 CG, 120 K’S


AL MV Relief Pitcher

Urbina, Ugueth

American Fork Eagles

K. Hinkson

2.57, 9-7, 25 SAVES



Foxx, Jimmie

American Fork Eagles

K. Hinkson

.303, 53 HR, 123 RUNS, 148 RBI, 24 DOUBLES


AL MVP Runner-up

Hornsby, Rogers

Fern Hill Grizzlies

C. Quigley

.329, 33 HR, 133 RUNS, 87 RBI


NL Cy Young

Hunter, Catfish

Salem Sidewinders

B. Stutz

3.05, 18-11, 19 CG, 5 SHUTOUTS, 101 K’S


NL Cy Young Runner-up

Key, Jimmy

Salem Sidewinders

B. Stutz

3.16, 17-11, 14 CG, 2 SHUTOUTS


NL MV Relief Pitcher

Sutter, Bruce

South Sound Sluggers

A. Thompson

3.00, 6-5, 44 SAVES, 8 BS



Gehrig, Lou

Santaquin Polar Bears

S. Quigley

.302, 54 HR, 117 RUNS, 135 RBI, 131 BB


NL MVP Runner-up

Ruth, Babe

Minnesota Heroes

S. Higgins

.297, 39 HR, 104 RUNS, 90 RBI, 133 BB

American Fork Eagles (Championship team Line-up)

CA- Yogi Berra

1B- Jimmie Foxx

2B – Charlie Gehringer

3B – Al Rosen

SS – Luke Appling, Bert Campaneris

LF – Rickey Henderson

CF – Joe DiMaggio

RF – Frank Robinson

DH – George Sisler

Starting Pitchers:

Ron Guidry

Deacon Phillipe

Dave McNally

Jim Bunning

Sid Fernandez


Ugueth Urbina

Jeff Montgomery

Mike Jackson

Paul Assenmacher

BJ Ryan